Restaurant Review: Ventura’s 4.0/5.0

By Tyler Adams
ENG 200

I visited Sylvania, Ohio and headed straight to a unique restaurant that I visit once a year on my birthday, Ventura’s Mexican Restaurant. I’m not sure if I want to say it is my absolute favorite sit-down restaurant in Ohio, but it sure is close. It is located at 7742 West Bancroft Street in Sylvania, Ohio. Good luck parking as Ventura’s as there’s a full house just about every night. Now, it doesn’t quite have the most elegant décor in the world, but don’t let that deter you from eating here. The décor is dated; I have been eating here since I was five-years-old and it still has not changed a bit. You will notice décor such as sombreros on the walls, bull fighting outfits along the tables, and the proud colors of the Mexican Flag all over the restaurant. Patrons may come for margaritas, but they stay for the food. The menu is one large plastic-covered sheet of paper with a variety of choices. There are so many delicious, authentic Mexican appetizers, drinks and entrees to choose from.

When you sit down to order, try the Cajon Chicken Burrito Supreme. This is no small portion. It is a pound of deliciously seasoned chicken, mouth-watering white cheese (which can be found not only in the burrito but on top as well), and on a deep-fried flour tortilla. This is what I have eaten on my birthday since I was about five-years-old, and I eat it annually for a reason. To this day, it is my absolute favorite thing to eat. When you take that first bite, the experience is breathtaking. After the first bite, you don’t want to speak to the people around you because it takes away from the burrito. This isn’t the only delicious meal on the menu, however. You will find other things like Shrimp Tacos, Beef and Cheese Super Nachos, and a wide variety of quesadillas, enchiladas, and other mouth-watering elements of Mexican Cuisine that will enrich your taste buds like never before. And to top it all off, the prices are wonderful. I ordered my usual and walked away completely satisfied for fewer than nine dollars.

What could be better than to dine at a place that has friendly servers who greet you with chips and salsa, has authentic Mexican meals, and above all else has convenient prices? I have rated Ventura’s four stars out of five. It would be five but the décor and overall bathroom cleanliness lacked. I must say I am picky when it comes to bathrooms at restaurants. I believe every bathroom should give you a feeling of cleanliness. The bathrooms are not well-kept and they smell awful. But rest assured that if you can avoid going to bathroom, then you will receive a wonderful experience from a great restaurant.

Leave a Reply

